A great deal of restraint.

I had to turn off the TV.  If one more person on CNN remarked that the police in Baltimore were behaving with a great deal of restraint, I was going to scream.

My partner, R, is marking a test with a great deal of restraint.
My friend works for a tech company with a great deal of restraint.
When I was a teenager, I worked in a record store with a great deal of restraint.

Since the 10 pm curfew, the TV cameras haven’t shown more than a dozen people on the streets.  A couple of bottles were thrown before the people retreated.  Plastic bullets were fired at a few who remained.  But the police didn’t blow up the entire city or mistake a gun for a taser or drag and beat someone causing severe spinal cord injuries today, so I guess that means they are exercising a great deal of restraint.

Well, that’s nice.

5 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Dan "Fearless" Freely April 30, 2015 — 3:06 am

    I can’t imagine what its like, when your government tells you to stay inside, and otherwise you’ll be arrested. What is that like?

    A great deal of restraint; it’s like violence is just more and more accepted. I think we’ve just all become numb due to all the violence we’re exposed to thru media, etc.

    Liked by 1 person

    • “violence is just more and more accepted”
      Yeah, it’s very strange to me. And I think it’s one of the problems that must permeate police culture: they are exposed to some of the saddest, most desperate, most cruel, and most violent aspects of society. It isn’t surprising that they, in particular would become desensitised to violence. I don’t know any police officers personally, but I would be curious to know how the best of them deal with that.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Dan "Fearless" Freely May 1, 2015 — 11:23 am

        One of my best friends is a police officers, although not in US. Nonetheless, he witnesses a lot of violence when e.g. he interrogates a person who raped and murder his mother. From what he told me I understand they are ‘offered’ therapeutic help after such an incident, but accepting such help is laughed at by fellow police officers. So, yeah, he’s a really nice guy, but sometimes I worry.

        Like

        • I’ve had very mixed dealings with the police (to be outlined in an upcoming post) but it is always pleasant to hear about one of the good guys.
          And how messed up is it that accepting help for PTSD-worthy experiences is somehow embarrassing? I’d say that getting help is a sign of strength rather than weakness.

          Liked by 1 person

          • Dan "Fearless" Freely May 3, 2015 — 5:57 am

            I agree, but what can I say, it’s the culture. I think plenty of PTSD-diagnoses could’ve been prevented if people allowed themselves to get help timely. In those ancient cultures (as with the military/marines) the understanding for this just started growing. I think it will take about 10 years till it has become a ‘common’ thing for a police officer to get help.

            Like

If so inclined, please leave a reply. I'd like to hear from you.

