So Long, Suckers – Part 3

A glimpse into my 10 year old self:

The nurse at the hospital is cleaning my wounds.  She tells me it will not hurt.  It hurts.  I protest.  She says it doesn’t hurt, that it will just feel cold.  I explain that she isn’t feeling what I’m feeling so she can’t tell me what I’m feeling.  She shoots my mother a look.  My mother says yes, I’m always like this.  Kind of a precocious jerk at times.

But I stand by my assertion.  It’s just that kids aren’t allowed to call adults on their bullshit.  Adults think they can spin any old line and kids, just because they are young, are going to swallow it hook, line, and sinker.  Well, I didn’t roll like that.  And you might want to remember that kids aren’t stupid:  they are pretty gullible, but not forever.

So three good things came out of the accident:  four if you count getting to ride in an ambulance.  So let’s say four, then.

1.  Awesome story.  When her car knocked my bike over, the pedal came off the spikey thing it spins around.  When she ran over my leg, the spike part was over my ankle and it punctured my ankle and chipped off a piece of the bone.  Gross, right?

2. Having a cast on my leg in summer was a real drag BUT it meant that I got to leave class a couple of minutes early to avoid the chaos in the halls and perhaps get knocked over.  AND, most important of all, I was excused from the atrocious road safety assembly (it was clearly too late for it to do me any good, though I’m pretty sure that wasn’t the rationale).  They had the same assembly every year and it gave me the super heebie-jeebies.  They’d bring a big car onto the concrete schoolyard track and they’d have a dummy on a string.  The car would drive at about 15 miles per hour and all of a sudden they’d yank the dummy into the car’s path and blammo!  The car would hit it and the dummy’s head and limbs would detach and go flying in all directions and all the girls would scream.  It was horrifying.  I really hated it.  So much.

3.  I got to ride in an ambulance.

4.  I received a settlement of $2,000.  It was to lie in trust until I turned 18.   Turns out that Mrs. D was the same D as the ones in the hotshot law firm  D & another D.  Not sure if that had any effect on the outcome.  With interest (and interest rates were high back then), it had reached $5,000 when I turned 18.  I knew exactly what I wanted to do with the money.  I wanted to go to England.  So I did.

If so inclined, please leave a reply. I'd like to hear from you.

