Riding the rails

Recently, I’ve been thinking a lot about travelling.  My course is winding down and it is time to break my C-Span habit. 

A friend suggested Bristol as a place I would like.  Apart from living in London for a year or so, I’ve only ever visited Brighton, Bath, and Oxford in the UK and have little interest in the south.  Perhaps Bristol is different somehow.  On the plus side, it’s only a hop, skip and a jump to Wales which, along with Edinburgh, is a place I have long wanted to visit.  My suspicion, however, is that Wales would be better seen with a car so that you’re not limited to cities and can get to out-of-the-way places and also get the hell back out in a hurry.

Of course, there’s always the train.  Bristol could just be one among a dozen places I could visit. 

My ideal travel is not flitting from one site to another every couple of days:  I prefer to situate myself and get a real feel for a city.  That’s part of the reason why I stayed in London for over a year … and still never made it to the British Museum.  I worked in a couple of different neighbourhoods, had friends in different parts of the city and became part of the scenery rather than just ogling it. 

The Bristol suggestion came with a caveat: “I think you wouldn’t want to leave”.

Well, what’s so bad about that?

If so inclined, please leave a reply. I'd like to hear from you.

